Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The discourse surrounding choosing academic subjects has always been controversial, some contend that the open-ended curriculum is best for students, while debaters argue that schools should teach future-oriented subjects only. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and will argue in the favour of the previous notion. To begin with the former view, proponents and I believe that an open-ended curriculum fosters creativity and personal development in children. In other words, studying subjects of your choice leads to unexpected career paths and a sophomore can create their own successful path. To exemplify, a famous artist Dr. Jay Moore selected music as their choice of subject, and today he is one of the wealthiest persons in his stream. Nevertheless, a career of their choice will promote a feeling of satisfaction in their jobs. A person will enjoy their work without taking it as a burden. Moreover, learning something you are passionate about will build self-confidence in a child. On the other hand, subjects like science, mathematics, engineering, and medical science are essential to deal with prospects ranging from climate change to artificial intelligence. Furthermore, the chances of employment are higher than in the other fields; therefore, the science stream is more liable than any other stream. However, I personally believe that, although studying science is paramount in the contemporary world, universities should offer a wide range of subjects; so there, children can choose their subjects on their own. To conclude, though science and maths are useful subjects for a better understanding of the environment and future employment, allowing an individual to choose their subjects helps in fostering creativity, mindfulness, feeling of satisfaction and personal development