Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain individuals believe that the purpose of advertisement is only to make a company profitable rather than the benefit of consumers. In this essay, the reasons for this kind of opinion will explored further. I personally believe that the promotional programmes are sometimes useful but also could have a negative impact on the shopping habits of customers. So, there is a neutral side to this perspective too which will discussed. The commercials are really important to introduce a product or service of a company to the public section who really needs it. Especially, the newer launched products need to be demonstrated in the ads to attract people to buy them. For example, there are many zero sugar drinks in market however if a company makes a new beverage then they have to show it in an advertisement to allure people to try it. For this reason, many companies use it to evade the tough competition going in the market. It also benefits customers because they get better prices and deals for the same goods they purchase because the cut throat competition of firms causes the prices to drop. On the other hand, there are many advertisers who use the public sentiment in a wrong way and try to fool people. To exemplify, to sell alcoholic drinks they use sportsmen as their model and the masses start pondering over the upsides of these beverages. They assume that these athletes have made such kind of physique and gained strength by drinking the product or they think that their role models personally use it so they follow them. However, consumer should always be conscientious enough to weigh the pros and cons of a product to avoid such kind of trap. In conclusion, commercials are a great way to ensure that the intended buyer is always aware of their product before making any purchase decision. On the other hand, some marketers try to fool the public by using their emotions which should is not fair. Overall, promotional ads have many advantages and drawbacks and the purchaser should always be self-conscious about their rights to know the correct information. From my perspective, the role of ads is ambivalent in the life of clients.