In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

It is a common belief that many countries have more elderly populations than young ones. While I agree that a higher percentage of elderly is a good development, I still believe that the increase in older people has many risks. It is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that there are several benefits of an ageing population. One possible advantage is that the old who experienced challenges have enough empathy to guide the young to work and study. In other words, the young can learn from the old's experiences and avoid making the same mistakes. As a result, the young work effectively to contribute to the economy. Another beneficial effect could be that the economy is developed. With a growing ageing population, there is increased demand for products and services tailored to the needs of older individuals. This can create new economic opportunities, leading to job growth and innovation in sectors such as healthcare, senior care, and leisure activities for seniors. Despite the aforementioned benefits, I would argue that the growing older population is an adverse population trend. The issue could be that many elderly people who usually get sick make pressure on the health service system. That makes the quality of health services worse. Because of that, many people going to the hospital cannot receive medical examinations and treatment. Another drawback worth mentioning is that the proportion of elderly people increases the effect on the economy. The growing ageing population results in the proportion of people of working age decreasing. This leads to a shortage of workers affecting productivity and economic growth. In conclusion, while I agree that an increase in the number of old people provides society with many advantages, I am of the opinion that the lower of young people increases the risk of economic