Many universities graduates cannot find a job in their choosen profession. What factors may have caused this situation and what is your opinion, should be done about it?

A large number of university alumni experience difficulties in searching for their first job in their fields after graduation. This is mainly because of the lack of work experience and impractical knowledge they get from tertiary institutes. There are a number of solutions that can help to improve this situation. Firstly, the main reason for this is the fact that the majority of educational programs contain 90% of in-class lessons and only 10% of practical exercises and trials. The period of 6 weeks which is typical of internships, is not enough to put knowledge into practice and gaining real work skills. Another reason for this problem is that educational programs are too old and not flexible enough to meet the modern business requirements, especially in such a rapidly changing industry as IT. There are two effective solutions to this problem. Firstly, students need to play an active role and start looking for any entry-level part-time job in their industry from the very beginning of their studies. Starting from scratch, learning the basic tasks will help them to fundamentally understand their profession and boost their career in the future. Another possible suggestion is to apply the "agile method" and make study programs more flexible, changing their content according to the latest changes in the industries on a regular basis. Universities should involve keen experts from businesses, production companies, hospitals and other spheres to deliver master classes and lectures to the students during their studies. If professionals assist universities to adjust their study program on a regular basis, more students will have up-to-date knowledge and skills for starting their professional life. In conclusion, former students are not able to find their first job after graduation due to a lack of experience and practical skills. The longer periods of internship and regular adjustment of the study programs in line with modern changes and trends will help students to start their careers.