As a result of global warming, many countries are turning to nuclear power instead of burning fossil fuels such as coal, oil and natural gas. What are the advantages and disadvantages of nuclear power stations? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Global warming has been a crucial problem and people are trying to find another option to deal with the changes and one of them is using nuclear power to replace other energies. The disadvantage of using nuclear energy is the health issues if it leaks whereas the advantage is it sustainable and could be a workaround for another environmental problem. Due to these facts, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, the drawbacks of nuclear are include human safety and the effects on health. It is due to the fact that there were many accidents because of nuclear leaks in many countries and it affects the area around them. In Japan, for example, there is an area where the incident of nuclear leak happened and it is restricted and abandoned because of the contamination of toxic. Therefore, this power is not an exception for health issues. On the other hand, the benefit of using nuclear rather than coal and natural gas is sustainability. This energy is categorized as sustainable energy and it could be a workaround for limited natural energy such as oil. Fossils, for example, need more than a thousand years to renew while nuclear can reproduce more easily. Because of this fact, nuclear should be considered as one of the replacements for unsustainable energies. To conclude, although there are disadvantages of nuclear because it impacts the environment and human beings if it leaks, we could feel the long-term benefits because it is a sustainable energy. That is why I wholeheartedly agree that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.