Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this problem, and what measures can be taken to solve it?

Obesity is a major problem in many countries which usually lead to dangerous diseases, such as heart attack and hypertension. Even though most of the obesity cases happened to adult, the number of children who experience obesity is increasing across nations. This essay will discuss the potential causes of this problem and propose solutions to overcome it. Juniors in many countries experience obesity due to two main causes, the lack of awareness on the obesity and unhealthy foods & beverages served to them. First, parents, who are children's first teacher, do not educate their child about healthy lifestyle for them to avoid obesity. Obesity topics, which are very crucial to all ages, only socialized to adults. For example in Indonesia, children are told by their parents to consume a lot of foods for them to grow bigger. On the other hand, adolescent love junk foods and candies, which are not healthy due to the high content of sugar in it. For instance, ready-to-consume beverages, which sold using booth around the school, probably have more than 50% sugar in its ingredients. Involvement from multiple parties, such as parents, teachers, and food & beverage producers, are important to solve this issue. As a first step, socializations pertaining obesity and its impact to childhood need to be conducted more regularly. For example, obesity socializations with game theme and rewards if they can maintain a healthy lifestyle, which will attract adolescent, can be facilitated by parents and teachers in their schools. Furthermore, it is encouraged for fast food manufacturer to perform thorough research & development activities in order to improve the healthiness of their products. Although the investments will be huge at the beginning, it will help children to have better quality of life in the future. For example, food producers can subtitute sugar with other more healthy ingredients, such as natural fruit extracts, without changing the taste of their products. In conclusion, the main reasons childhood obesity happened in many countries are due to the lack of obesity awareness provided to juniors and unhealthy ingredients that added to their daily consumptions. To overcome this issue, more socializations related to obesity for children are required, followed by the improvement of their consumptions that could be done through research and development by food manufacturers.