Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for thier future careers. Other people, say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Education in general is always a topic of interst. Some assert that academic subjects should be focused in teaching, while others state that a mix of academic and non-academic subjects is better. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and give the final opinion later. On the one hand, there are some compelling reasons to the importance of disciplines that are academically focus. First, it is inevitable that these subjects will directly beneficial for students in terms of gaining knowledge that might be helpful for them in the future. Due to the provision of academic curriculums about fundamental information, practical skills, … students can use this knowledge for any jobs that they apply for later on. This will stand a chance of graduated students to have a job easier. Second, acdemic subjects might be easier for acknowledging a person’s qualifications and ability. This is because these subjects will be given in terms of score based on the coursework, exam, … Therefore, a company can make comparison between applicants through their scores, meaning that students focus on academic could be more competitive when applying for a job. On the other hand, it seems to be more balance to have any non-academic subjects that students can do. The importance of music and sports in student’s life is seen as a tool of reducing mental health issues. China, where any types of non-academic curriculums tends to be underestimate and underprovided by schools. Students will concentrate on the compulsory subjects, which significantly has an adverse bearing on student’s mental health, therefore, increase the probability of stress and lower their performance at school. Furthermore, a well combination of two types of subjects could help students in terms of soft skills fostering. This is because the majority of sport requires teamworking and logical thinking for strategy. Where music essentially demand for the connection between brain, eyes and hands to play an instrument, as a result, it would increase the flexibility and develop the personality of students. In conclusion, although academic subjects are essential in providing students with basic knowledge to use in their future careers. However, I personally believe that the combination will be better for a well-rounded development for each individual since it not only help with reducing mental health issues but also giving students with opportunity of fostering their personality and other skills in the long term.