Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is a contradictory debate surrounding the benefits and drawbacks of charging museum visits. While some highlight the significant role the received money can play in maintaining and improving the overall condition of the museums, others claim that admissions can discourage the interested but less privileged individuals from visiting; which I, personally, believe pales in comparison with its potential benefits. On the bright side, charging visitors with admissions can provide the museum with a reliable budget to invest in maintaining the facilities and upgrading its overall quality. It goes without saying that the more financially secure one organization is, the higher-quality service it provides. Museums, for example, can spend on programs or visual aids such as video clips and booklets to educate the visitors on what they exhibit. However, a fall in the total number of visits can be anticipated due to charging for admission. Since many interested individuals are not privileged enough to afford the set price, they will, subsequently, give up on visiting museums. The loss of the passionate yet less-fortunate, therefore, can be considered as a potential risk. In other words, a notable population of people would be deprived of the experience and, consequently, museums would be prone to losing public popularity. This, however, can be addressed by the putting the collected budget into good use. Meaning, the authorities can provide some free tour opportunities for the underprivileged people who show enthusiasm towards the visit but are not able to afford the price. Also, having a reliable source of money will allow the museums to plan free educational programs so that the enthusiastic community can enjoy learning more about the history. In conclusion, considering the probable advantages and disadvantages of setting an admission for museums, it is obvious that its merits both outweighs and resolves the drawbacks as the collected money can be used to improve the overall status of the museum as well as offering free courses for the less-fortunate.