“Learning depends not upon the personality or methodology but rather on the student’s attitude to his or her own learning”. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is said that learning is only affected by how willing the student is, not by the characteristics of their teachers. In my opinion, I fully agree with this idea as individuals need to be responsible for their education, however, teachers can influence how a student learns as well. This essay will discuss both view points. On the one hand, teachers can directly influence the performance of their students. It is up to teachers to interpret knowledge and transmit it in a way that is understandable to learners. Therefore, any errors during this process can be detrimental to the student ’s academic performance. This is highlighted in a dissertation carried out by Harvard in 2016 in which they examine four school districts to find a relationship between individual teachers and student ’s maths performance. The dissertation found that ineffective teaching practices can greatly affect test outcomes, showing a clear correlation between teacher’s methodology and student’s learning. On the other hand, students who already have a negative attitude toward learning can have detrimental psychological effects on performance. Students often have an underlying fear or hatred towards learning because of past performances, therefore, they set up boundaries where no excitement can foster. However, such limitations can cause more fear and frustration in learning, leading to a feedback loop, causing less progress in learning to be made, per a recent study conducted by the University of Central Florida. The study also found that those with a positive view on learning after counselling break their self-restrictions before experiencing significant improvements in their academic performances. In conclusion, although certain teaching methods can have significant outcomes to learning, it is up to the student to form a healthy view towards learning. Without a proper attitude, a student can suffer from low academic performance and psychological complications. Therefore, I believe that learning depends greatly on the individual, not teachers.