It is inevitable that as technology develops, cultures must be lost. Technology and traditions are incompatible - you cannot have both together. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The 21st century has seen some of the fastest progress in technological development since human history began thousands of years ago. However, it is said that this rapid pace must mean the loss of cultures for technology and traditions do not go hand in hand. However, I wholeheartedly disagree with this statement as cultures might prosper more than before. For starters, whilst it is true that technology sometimes is incompatible with traditions, it can also be used to preserve it. This can be accomplished by taking 3D scans and uploading it to a dedicated central server before forming an access gateway, which is often through the Internet. Throughout the world, there has been a push to employ this technique, notably the digitalisation of the entire Vatican library. Since 2010, the Vatican Apostolic Library has digitised more than 80000 manuscripts dating back to the 13th century. These manuscripts provide a significant insight on how humans progressed throughout the centuries, from traditions to beliefs. The entire project was carried out in collaboration with NTT Data Corporation and provides unrestricted access via the website DigiVatLib. Furthermore, the rise of artificial intelligence (AI) can help protect items of cultural significance after digitisation as bad actors can downplay its value. These attacks are not easily recognised, however, AI models can predict and counter it in an instant. Additionally, the innate sense of cultural identity can protect heritage no matter how strong technology can be. Cultures often create a unique bonding experience for individuals, forming within them a strong cultural identity. Because of this, no society will take it lightly when its traditions are lost and will try everything to safeguard it for younger generations. For example, during the period when Vietnam was under Chinese rule, many dynasties attempted to eradicate Vietnamese culture. However, due to the Viets having a strong national unity and cultural identity, these attempts failed when Vietnam continually rebelled against Chinese oppression. Ultimately, the Vietnamese people were successful in repelling their occupiers, ushering in an age of prosperity. In conclusion, the advancement of technology does not mean an inevitability of cultural loss. Our cultural identities are too strong to let anything replace our heritage. Therefore, I strongly believe culture and traditions shall not be lost in face of technological advent.