Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

As a result of the improvements in health care, life expectancy for people is increasing from one year to another, In my point of view, it is an advantage have elderly people in our society. First of all, having an ageing population benefits the community by providing useful advices and experiences for life, In addition, having a high life expectancy means that you will have large amount of time to follow you passion and make your dreams come true, for instance, being able to work in multiple jobs and gain better experience. Nonetheless, governments find it difficult to have an ageing population and large number of old people, because the government will have to increase expenditure on paying pension for retirees, also the government is required to build more hospitals for old people, on the other side, they will receive less taxes due to the lack of workers, this will increase the probability of aging a deficit in the budget. In conclusion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.