Popular events like the World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In our modern era, hosting major sport events such as World Cup, NBA and NFL is deemed to be a way to shake off global stress and expressing nationalistic feelings. Although there's substantial debate whether such popular sport plays a role in overcoming the tension between nations or not. I agree with that former proposition has several strong elements that merit serious consideration. On one hand, international sport events can lead to world peace and bringing countries together. As we know football has a wide international reputation and huge fan base, as an illustration, in the World Cup every citizen supports his country, but when the country loses and exits, this leaves a room for the rest of the world to encourage other countries.For an example, in the 2022 World Cup, many non-French people wished for France to win, and others encouraged Argentina, forgetting the old disagreements and hatred. Therefore, this alone demonstrates that it is indeed possible to confront your rival without escalating the argument. On the other hand, some sport matches can worsen the situation between countries. Some audience lack respect and self-control when losing or when the referee doesn't count penalty kicks, and this may lead to verbal abuse of the referee or opposing player. Furthermore, some participants tend to injure their rivals on purpose, the challenge and anger will result an aggressive behaviour on the field. For an instance, in 2007 Inter Milan played against Valencia in a match called "The Champions Clash" the match ended with a violent physical assault, breaking the nose of one of the players, and the FIFA imposed sanctions on the aggressor team. To conclude, I completely agree that the field of sports contains fans with intense emotions, and this matter is a double-edged sword that produces constructive and sometimes destructive results. Thereby, it can result love, peace and harmony or it can bring violence and hard feelings.