In some countries children take up paid jobs during the summer vacation. Some people feel that this amounts to child labour. Others argue that summer jobs help children learn valuable lessons. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that the practice of children starting part-time jobs potentially perpetuates child labour even if these are done during their summer break. Opponents argue working is a good opportunity for school children to experience a variety of things. Although this practice has negative and positive aspects, I agree with the latter opinion in terms of the risks of exploitation and educational distractions they may face. On the one hand, working can provide children with numerous beneficial experiences, which improve life skills. For example, children can develop time management skills, teamwork and basic job skills, which would help them become independent. Additionally, earning their own money may help children understand its value, fostering a sense of financial literacy that is essential to living in today's capitalized society. On the other hand, by summer working, children might face risks of exploitation, such as unfair wages, excessive hours, and unsafe working conditions. This is because they may be less aware of their rights or less capable of advocating for themselves. Moreover, there may be impacts on education. Even though during summer vacation, many students use this time to catch up on studies, prepare for the coming school year, or participate in enrichment programs. Working during this period might distract from these educational opportunities and lead to a loss of academic focus. In conclusion, it is true that work offers valuable life lessons to children outside of the classroom. Nonetheless, summer working might involve risks of exploitation and losing educational opportunities. Therefore, I believe children should not engage in summer work.