In many countries, people are now living longer than before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for government. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extend do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, many individuals prefer to live longer. In my mind, all people are willing to live a lot. Moreover, the number of old people is increasing. However, the number of young people and children is decreasing. Furthermore, there are fewer children and teenagers compared to adults. This is one example of these issues. On the one hand, there are several benefits of a long life. The first benefit is that older humans are generally more intelligent than young people. For instance, they can be examples for many individuals. Additionally, there are financial benefits. If parents work, adults can take care of the young. This is because elderly persons are often wiser than others. On the other hand, despite the mentioned positives, many elderly people may pose problems for others. For instance, they might become ill as they get older. For this reason, some people need to take care of them, which can be problematic. One of the major disadvantages is that old people can become a burden in my opinion. Another important drawback is that they often want to dictate actions but cannot perform many difficult tasks themselves. This is another issue. In conclusion, while adults can sometimes become a problem for others, some people oppose this view. Although a long life can offer several positives, there may be some drawbacks too. From my personal point of view, the advantages of living longer outweigh the disadvantages.