Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do, they could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

To perform as a community, a legal system is needed. Some critics argue that if citizens have absolute freedom, it cannot work. I strongly believe that having rules and laws helps us to build a strong functional society. Firstly, every human has the right to freedom. However, this freedom is limited according to the law where the person lives. If a society does not have a legal system, chaos would appear and disorder would take relevance. An example of this is the rule of driving, a driver's license is needed. If an individual drives without it and does not know the rules, it can be dangerous, provoking car crashes and fatal accidents. On the other hand, it is common knowledge that to construct a building, instructions are needed. Otherwise, a demolition could take place. The same methodology applies to a civilization. Creating an institution that brings a structure where the main purpose is to preserve peace and organization is key, and the result of this would be through a set of norms for the society. Setting laws helps to avoid dangerous situations, such as mortality caused by another human being, stealing one from another, and fatal accidents that attempt lives. For decades, humanity has had this system whether it is through direct or indirect methods. Therefore, proof that norms bring benefits and help to keep productive and advance in society. In conclusion, having a legal system does not mean that humans do not have freedom. It means that the will and freedom they have has parameters, and should be aligned with what is legal to preserve peace within society. Rules and laws have helped us to be where we are and maintain order, if we do not have it, chaos would be brought.