Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is debatable whether loss of specific flora and fauna is the most concerning environmental issue of the current time. Although some individuals assert that this is the primary issue, others believe that environmental issues like air and water pollution have similar significance. This essay will delve deeper into these viewpoints and culminate my opinion in the conclusion. To begin with, there are multifarious reasons why people believe extinction of certain plants and animals is the main environmental issue. Primarily, when species start facing extinction, it may directly impact the food chain. It is because planet Earth has a well designed food chain and every creature residing in water or on earth plays an important role to maintain it. This food chain may be obstructed and cause harm for other animals if it loses any plant or animal. For example, no sooner did the population of butterflies decrease in China than the nation started facing difficulty in ripping the crops as butterflies were important to pollinate the crops. Moreover, the other horrific reason is, humans have no power to recreate extinct animals and plants. Hence, if one particular species faces extinction, others have to bear dire consequences which are inevitable. On the other side, a myriad of other environmental issues can never be overlooked. Foremost is the pollution in the air which is increasing day by day. The larger the use of motor vehicles the larger the air pollution will be. For instance, as per a report of The Guardian newspaper, a single diesel car releases carbon dioxide equal to 100 people if it works for one hour. Hence, after considering the dire consequences of such vehicles, the replacement is essential to be found. Moreover, water resources get affected by two means: pollutants from the air and from humans. The harmful chemicals present in the air like Sulphur turn into acid rain and the disposing of drainage waste into water from humans both cause water pollution. Therefore, human and animal survival on earth will be difficult if there is no availability of fresh air and water. To conclude, though other environmental issues are important too, in my opinion, the rate of extinction of flora and fauna is the most considerable one as these are inter connected and the process of extinction is irreversible.