The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

North American movies have been leading the ticket sales around the Globe since the first cinematographic frame was made. US films have influenced other countries to invest in their own productions. However, it does not mean that Nations have to do it in order to protect and improve the development of their culture. I disagree with that perception because is more a knowledge issue than a social one. Firstly, the North American film industry is the biggest generator of movies in the world, they have the ability to produce any story and become a piece of art through cameras and computer effects. For example, recently was released the second part of Avatar's trilogy, the biggest challenge was to reproduce on a computer the essence and science of water effects, and they invested quite a money to achieve that goal in the film industry. As a result, they obtained astonishing profits and the acknowledgement of the community and critics. In consequence, is hard for a country which is starting in this field to get the same results. Secondly, they have the media to produce stories but not the ideas, most North American productions are based on books or inspired by cultural aspects of a country. For instance, Pixar production obtained an Oscar Award for the best-animated movie called 'Encanto', that movie shows off the culture of Colombia and explores different traditions with an attractive story. Therefore, the Government of Colombia did not invest any money, instead achieved a strong desire from tourists to visit the country. In conclusion, I disagree with the statement that Nations have to protect and show their culture through their own production. They have to foster the culture and tourism whereas US directors focus on how to display that country with a story since they dominate the industry.