3.The internet is a good source of information and opened up opportunities for people all over the world. Is all information reliable online? What could be done to control information online.

As technology has developed significantly today, no doubt that the internet has become a great source to seek information, as well as opening up opportunities for people around the world. However, there are some harmful impacts that people will face, such as many sources on the internet are not verified and contain misinformation. In my opinion, this can be overcome by educating users. While much of the information on the internet can be reliable, there is a risk that material can be inaccurate as a significant portion of the content is not from verified sources. For example, anyone can create a website and populate it with any information they wish with limited legal or government control. As a result, false claims can lead to dangerous behaviours and undermine public health efforts. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, false claims about the cures and treatments spread on social media platforms. Although there is a risk that information could be inaccurate, however, this can be overcome by educating users and teaching them how to critically evaluate online information, recognise reliable sources and identify misinformation. The result of this is creating a safer and more trustworthy digital environment. An example of this is Australia has integrated and taught students how to critically evaluate online information from a young age. This approach has helped Australia achieve levels of digital literacy and resilience against misinformation. To sum up, internet sources can be useful to global audiences but not all of them are accurate. Educating users is a key tool in combating misinformation.