The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing discussion among employers about whether workers should have fewer working days and longer weekends. I agree with the notion of having longer work-free days in a week. In my opinion, for optimum productivity and a healthy work environment, having time for leisurely activities is essential. Firstly, the corporate job structure creates immense pressure on employees due to the need to complete assignments and meet targets on time, with promotions often dependent on performance. This can reduce the overall efficiency of the company. For example, a recent study conducted by a reputed university illustrated that a four-day workweek with a three-day weekend resulted in better outcomes in terms of achieving targets. Additionally, employees’ job satisfaction and performance were better compared to those working five days a week. Nowadays, mental health concerns are increasing, given the hustle and bustle of living in large cities, which leads to reduced social interactions with family and friends. This causes significant psychological distress and impacts one’s ability to perform. For instance, living close to my family for the past two years has given me a sense of contentment and security, which I believe has been reflected in my performance at work. To my surprise, I was awarded the best employee of the year for the first time after working for 15 years. To summarize, spending quality time with family and allowing individuals to engage in recreational activities by implementing a longer weekend policy in major establishments will lead to greater job satisfaction, improved psychological well-being, enhanced overall performance, and increased efficiency within the company.