In some countries, there is not enough recycling of waste materials (e.g. paper, glass, and cans). What are the reasons and what can be done to solve this problem?

It is certainly true that in some nations, recycling of waste materials is not sufficient. This is due to various reasons and such a problem can be resolved by taking the appropriate actions. The details are elaborated below. Recycling of waste such as paper, glass and cans is done in a limited amount in some of the parts of the world. This is because of the non-availability of the required resources. It has been observed that many companies wish to increase the recycling of waste products, however, considering the funding issues, limited budget and absence of advanced tools and techniques, usually this has been ignored. In addition, the laws, rules and regulations are very liberal in some of the countries related to waste recycling. As a result, people and organizations do not care and are serious about it. For example, as per the survey conducted by the University of Gujarat in the year 2023, only 20% of the recycling of waste material was done due to the lack of awareness among people and companies. There are a number of ways to mitigate the concern of less recycling of waste generation. Firstly, the authority has to provide financial aid to the employer in order to show interest and necessity for the purpose of recycling. Secondly, the government has to relax the taxation for the companies that adopt recycling practices. This will motivate such institutes to put more effort into waste materials. Thirdly, a plastic ban needs to be implemented to minimize the consumption. This will reduce the plastic generation. Finally, more awareness and campaigns need to be arranged for local people and companies to understand the importance of waste recycling. For instance, India has recently launched compulsory training for all teachers to gain knowledge and deliver it to their students. In conclusion, there are many reasons for less waste recycling as highlighted above, nevertheless, by taking action, it can be managed and improved with the desired results.