Many people argue that free mass transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

Recently public opinions show the need of free and accessible mass transportation for most major cities. I will elaborate the benefits and the drawbacks of free public transporatation in majority of cities. Due to the rising demand for convenient traffic to mobilisation, The government tries to provide free public transportations that has several advantages. Firstly, it will increase energy saving and reduce the mobility costs. Driving private cars will cost people to buy higher prices in fuels. The government must provide more energy supply for private usage. For instance, an employee who uses a private car needs to provide a budget for petrol or electric bills and car maintenance every month or year. However, using mass transportation will be free of charge. Moreover, the other advantage is time efficiency to mobile. Mass transportation in most major cities has developed to connect an arrange to be on time based on the schedule. For example, going to work office by commuter train takes 40 minutes, rather than driving car which takes 80 minutes until 120 minutes. On the other hand, public transportation has some disadvantages. Public transportation has lack of management traffic which will potentially cause crash traffic and delay the schedule. As a result, it will not be efficient your time. Furthermore, using mass transportation may not be flexible for us to stop in every place that we need to visit. Public transportation usually connects the passengers in every hub, so if there is a specific place that is far from the Hub, the passenger needs to access other transportation that might be charged more cost. In conclusion, free public transportation is more efficient in energy and time to travel, but it still has some potential inefficiency due to lack of maintenance and not being flexible to move to every destination. I prefer to use mass transportation according to its efficiency.