It is currently believed that children's behavior and misconduct is due to the lack of strict discipline and punishment applied by parents. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Disciplining a child could easily be one of the most complicated yet delicate matters. It is crucial for the parents to be equipped with comtemporary parenting skills. While strict discipline and punishment have been successful to regulate a child's behaviour in the past but it is not a common practice followed by parents today.The belief that a child's behaviour is bad because of the lack of strict discipline is not correct. It is mainly due to the lack of resorting to the modern parenting techniques. Parenting methods evolve with the period of time and one must try incorporating those methods to achieve the same results what punishment did in the past. Also, punishment can have long lasting effects on a child's physical and mental health that not only that will result into even more serious problems but also will lead to other serious issues like low self-esteem and lack of confidence in a child. Hence I completly disagree with the statement that the lack of strict discipling disciplining and punishment result into a child's misconduct. Moreover, in many countries it is illigal to physically punish a child as there are proven studies that punishment only discourage a child to be creative and independent. When parents use such methods to discipline their child it only result into a child being scared of the parents instead of understanding the rationale behind why he/she is told not to misbehave. It is important that a child understands the value of being a good human by recognising how his/her behaviour impacts others. To conclude, I am of the opinion that punishment should not be used fo discipling discipline a child because it will have less benefits and more harm.