Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; ‎ during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. ‎ To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?‎

Festivals are essential parts of a culture. It has become a Concerns have been raised whether people have forgotten the meaning of our local and religious festivals but rather enjoy themselves during such occasions. I completely agree with this. To begin with, celebration of festivals has become a source of entertainment to some people. People attend such programs to have fun. To illustrate this, a publication in the Ghana Times shows, several participants of Odwira, a local festival marked in the Eastern region show no interest in knowing the history revolving around the occasion but rather, show up for the popularity of the festivity and merry making. It is therefore not surprising most attendees wear inappropriate attire to the program. However, history is a fundamental aspect of nation. In my country, most schools' curricular endeavour to incorporate teaching history as a subject to lots of the basic schools' educational calendar to impact knowledge about a nation to upcoming citizens. For instance, I learnt what I know about Aboakyire festival held by the Gas in the Capital of Ghana from school. In view of this, culture is maintained and attendants of this festival know and understand the activities that take place, thereby maintaining the integrity of the occasion. It is evident from this that not all celebrants present for enjoyment. In conclusion, I agree that festivals form a significant aspect of our culture and are not only marked for fan but als, to remember and maintain the meaning behind these celebrations.