In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Supermarkets have revolutionized the way people make purchases these days: while in the past, customers could only obtain local products, they now can buy various kinds of imported goods from local stores. While I acknowledge the harms that this development brings, I still regard this opportunity as a positive change. Environmental degradation is one of the negative ramifications of having foreign commodities in local markets. Once products are manufactured overseas - thousands of miles away from the exporting country - they need to be transported via ships and, if the area is landlocked, trucks. The problem, however, is that these modes of transit mainly run on non- renewable energy sources, leading to increased vehicle emissions due to long travel distances. As a result, it exacerbates the existing problem of tackling global warming and increases an individual's carbon footprint. Despite the aforementioned challenges, the availability of food products from all over the world brings not only individual but also societal- level benefits. On an individual level, most imported goods, such as exotic fruits (mangoes and tangerines), coffee beans, or even as basic as tea, may be unavailable in a country. Importing those food products into the country is the only choice for making them accessible to a wider public. In the absence of these items, one would have to go overseas to obtain them, which is both time-consuming and not a cost-effective option. On a societal level, it can give rise to the opening of new job vacancies for those who deal with trading and import-export practices, reducing unemployment rates to a certain level. Moreover, having the influx of foreign products into a market forces local producers to be more competitive, driving them towards creating more affordable and good- quality products to survive in this increasingly fierce level of competition, which is beneficial for end-users. In conclusion, the presence of foods from across the globe is not without its drawbacks. Nevertheless, the advantages that it brings far outweigh the drawbacks.