Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While one school of thought holds the view that sport players succeed by owning physical strength, others are of the belief that mental well-being should be more trivial. This essay will closely scrutinize both viewpoints before concluding that I am in favor of the former. On the one hand, it is understandable why some propose the neccessity of a strong mental attitude. The key rationale behind this thinking is that this provision would enable motivation for sportspeople to practice hard. If an athlete cannot foster a competitive spirit or a diligent attitude, he may lack the neccessary stimulation to work hard and succeed. For instance, swimming is not interesting at all as it takes time and energy, and aspiring athletes need to maintain their enthusiasm in order to achieve high rank. In addition, mental health plays a crucial role in overcoming failures in competitions. It is inevitable that each athelte cannot get their desired goals at least once in their lives, so that a strong mind could help them go through these crisis. On the other hand, I side with those who claim that physical strength must be the basis of all success in sport. While most people take up sport simply to get into shape or to keep fit, those who wish to become successful must be physically strong. Take some physically demanding sports such as weightlifting, boxing or judo as examples, which requires endurance and strength. In conclusion, both physical and mental strength are essential to become successful in sport, yet it is impossible to succeed without being physically strong.