Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

A growing global trend in the establishment of supermarket chains has been witnessed. Their arrival in the market has surely made our lives convenient, but it has also become a prime cause of the closure of local businesses. This essay will explain the effects of its existence on local communities and also suggest ways to improvise. Small business owners and communities have been severely affected by the arrival of these big grocery stores. One of the most inflicting pain points is financial loss. People nowadays visit supermarkets to shop for their daily needs, as they get everything under one roof, which spares them from travelling and wasting time in order to obtain different things. Due to this, there is less foot traffic at local businesses, and hence they are becoming obsolete. Apart from the economic loss, communities are also impacted socially. Often, local shops are meeting hubs for residents living in the area; the closure of these shops will weaken the bond within the community. There are several ways the government and society can lend a helping hand to ensure the sustenance of these public shops. One of the most effective ways is through government-funded financial campaigns, where the government lures people to shop locally and gets a discount on their next two purchases. This will surely attract and motivate a lot of customers to buy local products. Another initiative that will guarantee the existence of these small shops is that local councils can organise monthly market fairs for the community, where all local businesses get a chance to exhibit their products and services directly to the local population. To sum up, in order to ensure the prosperity and growth of our community and society, it is essential to support and promote local businesses. Otherwise, these multinational corporations will dictate our society and control not just our finances but also impact us socially.