Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

There are numerous processed foods which are high in sugar and increase the risk of health problems for people. A group of individuals presented the view that it is better to raise the price of products with high sugar levels to motivate people to eliminate their use of such goods. I strongly disagree with this idea. It is my view that deciding what kinds of food to consume is a personal decision and everyone is responsible for his choice. It is preferable if people would be educated about lifestyle from an early age in schools including, introducing them to how it is beneficial if they eat nutritious foods as well as what the long-term consequences of consuming unhealthy foods are. Therefore, would have sufficient knowledge to make informed decisions to have a healthy diet and they probably avoid eating poor nutrition food such as sugary, salty or fatty foods. In contrast, some individuals claim that raising the prices of sugary foods is going to help decrease their consumption as people, especially the ones who have lower incomes, might not be able to afford to purchase them. However, nothing can justify forcing people to do what they do not like. In this way, they are more likely to reduce their expenditure on other staff even proteins, fruits or other healthy goods to just be able to purchase what they want. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea of making expensive sugary foods to prevent people from buying and using them. Because it is an obvious form of freedom violation.