Write about the following topic: In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

General health of individuals in some states is declining due to overweight. In my opinion, consumption of imbalanced meals and lack of physical exercise are the major causes. Health education on proper nutrition and discouraging people on fast food consumption will enable to curb the issue. To begin with, due to the busy schedule at work and during the studies, many individuals prefer to eat any food they come across. They are not concerned on whether it contains all the nutrients the body needs or not. This has led to consumption of too much carbohydrates because they are easily affordable and easy to cook in various restaurants around the world. Since they are fast converted to energy in the body, there will be urge to take more and this will lead to addition of more weight. For example, a study done by students in the University of Florida on the impact of food on peoples' health showed that 92% of total population were obese and consumed rice atleast twice a day. Additionally, due to affordabilty of personal cars, community members have opted to use them as means of transport despite the kilometres covered. For instance, a place of less than 5 kilometres can take approximately 30 minutes by foot but not many people will buy such idea claiming that it is time consuming and one become very tired. This has led to sharp rise of the general weight because the energy in the body is not utilized properly. However, in order to encourage people to be physically fit, private organisations like NGO and UNHCCR are conducting health sessions to every member of the community regardless of the age on the importance of taking balanced diet. They are even conducting campaigns on the television using graphics to describe how a health meal should look like. By this many individuals will not only improve their personal health but also be physically fit. Also, members of the public are discouraged from eating processed food and encouraged to prepare their own. This is because artificial chemicals are added as preservatives and to increase shelf life which impacts the weight of the body negatively. To illustrate this, the WHO recently bunned sale of sausages from Kwetu company claiming they contained a certain chemical that added kilograms to those who consumed it. In conclusion, the general well being of an individual determines whether they are physically fit or not. People should be taught and given guidance on various ways of adopting healthy lifestyles.