Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

Nowadays, shopping is a more prevalent activity than ever, with people practicing it online or on site. Its popularity derives from the relaxing feeling provided and the accessibility. Shops can be found almost anywhere, offering a diverse range of products to satisfy public need. From “window shoppers” to “shopaholics”, people have developed different shopping tactics, relying on it to survive the constant need of objects and services. This essay will analyze the effects of the popularization of shopping represented by the blooming of businesses and the addiction of having new products. The positive effect of such a popularity increase is the prosperity of businesses because of the number of clients. For instance, if people shop more little businesses have the opportunity to grow their number of sales, accumulating more money to support themselves in becoming more influential on the market. Thus, building a healthy economy which helps a community advance, attracts tourists, promotes population growth and contributes to the well-being and entertainment of people. One of the negative effects shopping has on individuals is that as products become more expensive, there is a resulting trend of recklessly spending money on new products instead of reusing or fixing old ones. For example, an avid electronics shopper would much rather replace their old iphone with the newest version as soon as problems arise, instead of trying to fix their device. This results in a constant need to have something new which creates personal financial pressure as well as external judgment. To summarize, because of the many influential factors it is not appropriate to affirm whether overall, the increased popularity of shopping has a positive or negative influence. However, we can observe both its effects at a macro and micro scale.