University students should be required to attend classes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

With an ever-increasing focus on students ' class engagements, some individuals have opined that attending classes should be mandatory for university students. This essay, however, will provide several reasons why I strongly disagree with this opinion. To begin with, some individuals argue that mandatory attendance is necessary for university students. Firstly, from the students' perspective, they often struggle to maintain a well-regulated life due to the demands of exams requiring extra study time and social events that help create helpful connections. Moreover, compared to students with a mandatory attendance system, those without such a requirement have shown decreased appreciation and engagement in lectures. Therefore, these students can benefit from mandatory attendance by learning punctuality and discipline, which emphasize the importance of responsibility. Despite the reasons mentioned above, I firmly contend that attending classes should not be mandatory for university students. While acknowledging some points from the previous arguments, focusing on other students ' perspectives can illuminate a different view. The priority for students is to maximize the quality of their learning. If they consider a lecture to be of low quality, they should have the right not to attend. For example, students tend to avoid classes where the professor is not attentive to their needs. Furthermore, there are alternative ways to study even if students are absent. Online course materials are often available, and the majority of universities provide online platforms for classes. Therefore, students should be able to choose whether to attend classes. In conclusion, some individuals might argue that mandatory attendance is necessary for university students. Nevertheless, I completely believe that considering the challenges faced by other parties can lead to more sustainable advantages.