In many countries around the world rural people are moving to cities so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many residents living in villages are migrating to cities, and because of this, populations in rural areas are declining. I believe that this is a negative development because a decrease in population leads to a lack of development in rural places and there would not be many youngsters to take care of the elderly members of society. To begin with, the major strength of any area is its people; if they start leaving the area, it will be difficult to progress in terms of the structural and financial improvement of that place. That is to say when village people move to cities, they will drain the power to enhance the state of the village. For example, a village in Southern Italy stayed without infrastructural improvement for over a decade since most of its working-class citizens found jobs in cities. In addition, many elders are dependent on their young ones when they cannot take care of themselves. Since most of the people who move to cities from less developed parts of the country are young adults, old citizens will be left to deal with their own shortcomings, such as health issues. For instance, in Sri Lanka, during the financial crisis, over half of the rural youngsters came to the capital city to earn a higher wage. This led to an increase in health problems in several elderly people. In conclusion, people shifting to cities could cause the downfall of the development processes in the villages, and elder members of the family might suffer when they do not have their children to take care of them.