The Research Studies show that overeating is equal ly harmful to people’s health as smoking. Therefore, the advertisements of certain food products should be banned similar to cigarettes. To what extent you agree?

According to recent studies excessive eating habits have almost the same detrimental effects on people's medical conditions as smoking. Hence, some people advocate for the idea that the promotion of certain food products through advertisements should be prohibited by the government authorities. I completely agree with the given statement, since these regulations might have some positive impacts on individuals' health. Firstly, some regulations should be enacted to deter people from being exposed to certain ads that promote harmful products. Advertisements are generally designed to tempt people to try their goods regardless of their negative effects on people's health conditions. The main incentive of these companies is to earn as much profit as possible. Obviously, they do not pay enough attention to the qualities of the products they produce. Therefore, imposing rules that make businesses to be cautious of the goods they produce and promote might result in positive outcomes. For example, authorities might penalize the ads that only focus on deceiving the audience to purchase their products instead of showing them their ingredients and possible impacts on health. In addition, taxing advertisements for certain products such as cigarettes would demotivate the businesses to promote those products and reduce the overall consumption within society. Secondly, banning those advertisements would encourage other businesses to concentrate on improving their products to have more beneficial features to people's diets. It would also incentivize a few organizations to educate people about the severe consequences of consuming unhealthy products on their immune systems and the possible illnesses they might have down in the line such as obesity, diabetes, and other diet-related diseases. For instance, holding campaigns that familiarize people with healthy diets and eating habits would result in better outcomes in the long run. To conclude, there are numerous ads that entice people to develop harmful eating habits and try various products that can deteriorate their medical conditions. I am of the opinion that, certain regulations should be prepared and imposed on advertisements to protect consumers from the detrimental effects of those products.