Today, majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working. To what extent do you think that it affects the whole family?

An escalating trend of both parents going to work has resulted in their offspring being taken care of by grandparents in their absence. While this phenomenon brings significant benefits for some family members, at the same time it could be disadvantageous for others. On the positive side, the involvement of grandparents in childcare can alleviate the financial pressure on parents. With the rising living costs almost everywhere, it has become challenging for many families today to survive with a single income and to afford expensive childcare arrangements if they want to continue their career commitments. So, the presence of grandparents, in such a scenario acts as a boon by allowing both parents to focus on careers, knowing their offspring are in a safe and supervised environment which further leads to greater financial stability for the entire family. Additionally, this arrangement offers substantial benefits to children also, as we know grandparents, having passed through various stages of life, have a treasure of knowledge, wisdom and experience. So, their stories, life lessons can greatly assist young ones in learning about many moral values, traditions, and family history and thus enabling them to stay connected to their roots and eventually become well-behaved adults in the future. However, this trend is not without its drawbacks and the most notable one can be a potential strain on the physical and emotional well-being of older parents. Since the responsibility of children especially young and energetic ones can be a daunting task for some grandparents who themselves are suffering from any health issues due to their age. This in turn can make them feel burdened and thus affect the harmony of the entire family. To sum up, the involvement of grandparents in childcare certainly has noticeable benefits. Nevertheless, the associated drawbacks are worrying and cannot be overlooked. So, the health and willingness of older parents must be considered before handing them over this critical duty of child-rearing.