The most valuable skills learned are practical, rather than the ones we learn while in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The importance of the nature of skills can be debatable. While some people think that hands-on experience is more useful, others consider theoretical concepts more valuable. In my opinion, all skills are necessary in front of real-world scenarios that we go through every day. On the one hand, cognitive skills and foundational knowledge are acquired by getting specialization in certain fields. Formal education provides the opportunity to prepare for real-life cases. Formal education is a must-have for young professionals in a wide range of fields. It helps to avoid crucial mistakes. For example, it is unacceptable in medicine that doctors get knowledge only through experience. It would be damaging for patients. Doctors must get the backbone of professional competence before starting to work with people. On the other hand, theoretical knowledge without practical application can be irrelevant in practical settings. In some professions, practical skills might be more immediately necessary, such as in vocational trades. Moreover, some skills can be barely covered by formal education. For instance, skills such as problem-solving, communication, and time management are often developed through experience, internships, and direct involvement in tasks. Experience gives the ability to navigate and excel in real situations. In conclusion, the value of skills can be context-dependent and a blend of both practical and theoretical skills is often most beneficial. Integrating both forms of learning is essential for holistic development. Practical skills without theoretical understanding may lack depth and vice versa. The balance between two types of skills is often determined by the demands of a career path.