Do children behave better when they are physically punished or rewarded? Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

It is believed that the behaviour of children depends on whether they are being rewarded or physically punished. I do agree with the reward concept and will outline both aspects. To begin with, the concept of reward not only creates a positive impact on the well-being of children but also disciplines them. To achieve this idea, a set of rewards can be introduced to encourage children with an understanding that in order to achieve the reward they need to be on their best behaviour. For instance, parents or guardians can gift their children a reward of their choice if they successfully meet their parameters. On the other hand, physical punishment can also be beneficial in some rare scenarios. Many children may or may not behave better if they do not face any consequences for their actions. However, instead of strictly punishing a child it would be better to keep the severity of a punishment low to a certain extent only. For instance, adults can physically punish a child if they are not following their instructions even after they are being repeatedly told. To conclude, the idea of whether children behave mannerly when they are physically punished or rewarded is multifaced, but in my opinion, rewarding children is the best concept as it does not hamper the development of a child and they can live openly without fear of being physically punished over small mistakes.