Some people think most crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad in nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It’s nearly impossible to point to just one cause as an answer to the question of why people commit crimes, with many factors at play. Some consider criminal motivation to be fueled by socioeconomic disparities, while others seem to believe having moral deficiencies and lacking impulse control is to blame. I believe that individuals engaging in criminal behavior are typically influenced by a combination of both factors. Low socioeconomic standing: low income, poor financial literacy, or poverty correlates with a high likelihood of incarceration, with the data proving those who face socioeconomic implications were 20 times more likely to be pushed to commit crime than those of their peers from high-earning families. Although the poor condition itself is typically not the root cause, it is what stems from it like substance abuse, lack of educational access, and mental health challenges. Individuals living in low-income neighborhoods are more likely to be affected by opioid overdoses, less likely to graduate from high school, and thus face mental health challenges. Without having access to quality mental health therapies their suffering is more likely to last to the point where it becomes a potential impetus for crime. There is also a correlation between family instability and juvenile delinquency, meaning those who experience a turbulent and unstable home life may presumably commit crimes during their youth, even if they don’t, with troubled family histories they are more likely to experience disruptions in their family formation processes which consequently may coerce them into offending. On the other hand, psychological drivers can influence criminal motivation as well, with criminal impulsivity ranking at the top. Impulsive individuals often struggle to inhibit their immediate urges and desires as well as prioritize immediate rewards over long-term consequences, even when it comes to committing a crime to get their way. However, no one is born a violent offender, except for those who have genetic mutations in their brain development, namely in the amygdala- a part of the brain involved in fear, aggression, and social interactions. Studies suggest that amygdala deficits can make individuals fearless in situations that would normally provoke fear, making them more prone to criminal acts. I believe that nurturing these genetically predisposed individuals in poor socioeconomic conditions can lead to increased aggression and criminal behavior. In conclusion, the motivations behind criminal behavior are multifaceted, and influenced by both socioeconomic and psychological factors. While low socioeconomic standing, marked by poverty, lack of educational opportunities, and inadequate mental health resources increases the likelihood of criminal acts, psychological drivers such as impulsivity and genetic predispositions also play a significant role. Therefore, I believe it is the interplay between these factors that shapes criminal behavior.