In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In the contemporary world, the trend of moving abroad for higher education is becoming increasingly prevalent. While some believe that studying abroad is a gateway to many opportunities, others advocate for the subsequent economic loss that stems from depleted workforce in their homeland. This essay delves deeper into the reasons why proponents underline the benefits of studying abroad and why others are against this trend. On the one hand, several students, driven by the notion of success, travel to affluent countries in pursuit of higher education. To elaborate on this point, since numerous top-ranked educational institutes are ubiquitous in industrially developed and economically stable nations, not only do students enroll here are advantaged by their education system, but are also benefited by their affiliations with famous firms and enterprises. Consequently, not only do these companies provide the candidates with the chances of internships, but also hire them for the jobs later on. For instance, many developed nations serve as platforms, laden with opportunities of learning and employment, which entice people to enroll in their institutes. Hence, in order to broaden the horizons of learning and improving future career prospects, a huge number of students tend to study abroad. On the other hand, countries suffer financial losses when a large number of educated people leaves them. In other words, since majority of the candidates who leave their countries belong from poor nations, these economically deprived nations witness further loss owing to the downsizing of their workforce. For example, since rarely do the Third World nations offer chances of honing skills, students tend to move to other platforms that facilitate higher education and improve future projections; as a result, healthcare facilities are reduced and businesses undergo massive losses. Thus, reduction in the pool of educated individuals negatively impacts all the aspects of countries. In conclusion, although there are tremendous outcomes when students study in world-class institutes, in terms of their future projections, notwithstanding, their motherlands suffer financially due to the resultant loss of workers and brain drain.