More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

In recent times, the younger generation has been observed to migrate from their country to further their education. For many, this movement is for a great cause. However, others believe it is a detrimental decision to make. Whilst acknowledging that there are downsides to studying overseas, I strongly believe that its benefits take precedence over the disadvantages. To begin with, one of the primary advantages of relocating abroad for one's studies is the enlightenment it brings. When a student is surrounded by peers from different parts of the world, they tend to assimilate new things such as perceptions, food, and even languages. As a result, the nation will produce more open-minded people who appreciate not only their own culture but also those from all corners of the world. On the other hand, notable disadvantages stem from travelling to a foreign land to garner knowledge. One of the most heart-wrenching points is the potential loss of one's culture. For instance, a survey conducted at Harvard University questioned international students about their heritage. The majority of the students could not remember simple aspects that make their country unique. Because of this, if such a student decides to return home, blending in might be difficult. To conclude, obtaining a degree internationally can be an unsettling debate. Some people commend the idea of gaining mast exposure through this route, while others are against it due to the feeling of detachment it brings. In my opinion, I wholeheartedly suggest that every individual, regardless of age, should leave their home country in pursuit of knowledge in unfamiliar nations.