Online education is becoming increasingly popular nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this format?

With the development of technology, a new format of learning has emerged which is entirely conducted online. This new format sure has offered many benefits, the most noticeable one of which is its great convenience, however, the drawbacks such as lack of engagement must not be neglected. To begin with, one of the core advantages of studying online is that this way is remarkably convenient as opposed to traditional learning. The reason is the lack of necessity to visit a venue in order to attend the lesson, so both the teacher and the students save a great deal of time choosing to study online. Besides, this format is greatly flexible since it is possible to learn anytime from any place, as long as you have the proper connection. For these reasons, online education appears to be superior in several ways. The recent rise in popularity of online IELTS lessons can be a case in point – many students are turning to online courses because of the convenience and effectiveness of those. On the other hand, the main drawback of this format appears to be the complete lack of engagement between the tutor and the learners. Since students are not physically present during the lessons, it is challenging for the teachers to encourage them to study and to be disciplined. This, in turn, may lead to students being distracted from the learning process, or even allow them to cheat on their tests since there is no direct monitoring. This means that, despite the benefits, online education, just like anything else, is not perfect and has its own disadvantages. For instance, a school student, if learning online, can freely miss the classes or just search the test answers on the internet and get away with cheating, simply because there is no one to control this. In conclusion, recent advancements made online learning possible and it proved to have both advantages and disadvantages. The selling point of online education is the convenience it offers, while the weakness is the lack of proper engagement between the learners and the tutors.