In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Locals in certain countries are keen to find out the history about their house or the building where they live. In my opinion, this is because they are captured by the beauty of its architectural design or being inspired by a film. There are many ways to fulfil this kind of curiosity, such as asking to the elders or going to a public library. Nowadays, there are more people amazed with the historical architecture of the building they live in. This will lead to a question about who was the designers which come up with this idea in the first place. An outstanding example of this is the numbers of vintage Dutch-style houses in Indonesia, especially in Jakarta, which was built by the Dutch during their colonialism era. Moreover, there are some individuals who were inspired to begin their explorations towards the history behind their homes after watching films, such as "The Conjuring" and "The Amityville Horror". In other words, horror-genre films, related to haunted houses specifically, contributed to the growing interests of people to learn more about their residences back in time. Learning from grandparents is one of the most effective ways to gain information on such thirst of knowledge. This is mainly due to there are bigger chances to get evidences in connection with the house from the former residents, such as photo albums they kept or listening to the stories being told from their ancestors. Furthermore, people can also begin to initiate a visit to public library, since there will be a wide range of book collections about notable buildings who had been constructed in the neighborhood. To illustrate, at a local library in Jakarta namely "Balai Pustaka Jakarta", hundreds of memoirs are stored safely there, where we can read about the establishment of historical properties there. In conclusion, if societies are interested to study about the past records of their current accommodation, either caused by its remarkable structure or simply inspired by films, there are ways to satisfy their curiosity by asking to the elderly people or heading to local libraries there.