Some peple think that adverts control what we purchase, while others think they are useful sources of information of products. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In the era of information, advertising exists in every aspect of our daily life. This leads to an argument over whether it manipulates our buying decisions or provides helpful knowledge about goods. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and then I will give my own perspective. On the one hand, many people believe that adverts encourage unnecessary spending. First of all, a lot of advertisements offer products or services that are not really necessary for our lives. Most consumers spend their money just because of the image of power, success and glamour associated with the items, not because of the true value of their usages. For instance, many high fashion brands offer an expensive price for an item with only a collective purpose. In addition, there are many audiences that can be easily influenced by commercials, such as children or teenagers. As a result, they may prefer their parents to buy certain items. On the other hand, it is clear that advertisements also help to provide some knowledge on the products or services. Firstly, commercials support buyers in discovering new promotions or bargains for goods. To illustrate, most e-commerce platforms nowadays always inform their users every time there is a new bargain, this helps consumers never miss an opportunity to buy things at a reasonable price. Secondly, this will save people a lot of time to learn about new goods if they do not have time to shop around. Moreover, customers can easily find out about some information like environmental impact or the original company of the products. In conclusion, it can be seen that both sides have their merits. In my opinion, I suppose that even though adverts can provide information for buyers, their ultimate aim is still to persuade people to buy things and as a result, manipulate our purchasing behaviour.