In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many parts of the world are expecting an influx of people from the countryside to urban areas, which leads to overpopulated cities but scarcely populated rural areas. In my opinion, this development is having many negative impacts on both urban and rural areas. An increasing number of people reside in urban areas can be problematic in various ways. More residents leads to more serious traffic congestion and consequently the air quality of the place will degrade or even become polluted. Besides, the growing population put the city under great pressure regarding to employment and social security. Job seeking is one of the common drives that makes people decide to live in a city. If the rate of umemployment is high in one area, it usually has a knock-on effect on the crime rate of that area. The fact that people cluster in urban areas also negatively affect the countryside. People moving to city are primarily young people of working age, which also means that the remainining population in the countryside is mostly the elderly or children. This kind of population is generally not beneficial much to the economical climate of the countryside. In the long term, there grows a shortage of workforce in agricutural sector in rural areas yet abudant in labor in the city. In conclusion, the growing population of urban areas is imposing an formidable challenge on both the cities and the countryside. Thorough consideration and actionable measures are necessary in reducing future consequences of overpopulated and poorly planned urban areas.