Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? what could be disadvantages for being self employed?

Today, more and more adults decide to work independently rather than being hired by a corporation. This essay will first suggest that people's increased desire for freedom and the invention of new technologies could be the main reasons for this phenomenon. Despite the mass high interest in self-employment, it actually has its own downside such as its negative influences on someone's psychological well-being. Recent research studies have found that the majority of people in this modern society demand a much more flexible lifestyle compared to their previous generations. Due to that reason, almost 90% of Gen Z decided to be self-employed. That is why we now have new trendy occupations, for instance, influencers, YouTubers, or vloggers. Advanced technological inventions also play a significant role in changing our way of living, including the way people pursue their careers. Take freelance designers as an example, they could make a living working from their own bed with only a laptop or tablet. Although this career path may lead to lots of freedom compared to conventional office jobs, being self-employed might force a person to spend much more time working even harder which usually causes a higher stress level. Additionally, being self-employed often means that there is no fixed 9 to 5, and those who work with random working hours usually face the frightening feeling of uncertainty. In conclusion, many youngsters are now choosing to be self-employed rather than to work in a certain institution. Two important reasons for this change are the new way of living expectations growing among the youth and rapid ITC innovations. Even though it is a popular decision, self-employment could cause bad impacts such as burnout and instability.