In many countries today, the eating habits and lifestyle of children are different from those of previous generations. Some people say this has had a negative effect on their health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, we can observe that kids have changed their customs in aspects as food consumption and physical exercise. This essay will explain why many people claim that this scenario involves potential risks for their health, expousing the reasons why I partially agree with this belief. Firstly, it is interesting to notice that the new generations are eating more fast food than ever, considering that the scientific literature converge in holding a correlation of this trend and health problems. In contrast, their parent's generation was nurtured under sharply different habits, developing a sense of the taste diverse and ample. Meanwhile, the new generations have opted for more hyperpalatable hyper-palatable alternatives, such as burgers or pizza. The outcome of this is that never before we have consumed as many fast food as today, although it can be partially explained by factors like the disposition of resources and the growth of this type of food industry. Unfortunately, the mentioned trend is complemented with another negative new habit, namely, the decrease of the time destined to playing sports amongst younger people. Probably, people in their thirties and forties are part of the last generation who played analogical games and with mechanical toys. Additionally, the time spent in exploring the natural environment has diminished dramatically for children. One of the main reasons behind this trend has to do with the tendency of replacing the time for playing outdoors with time for playing online. Also, it is true that many parents have less free time due to their jobs for playing with their children, which has had negative effects on the habits inherited from one generation to another. To sum up, the new generations are showing different habits, being most of them risky for their health. Nevertheless, many other social transformations, such as the parent's leisure time decrease or the development of fast food industries, are impacting on our context as a whole. For these reasons, I partially agree with the opinion which claims that the new habits amongst children are risky, because have reduced the consumption of healthy foods and the physical effort, without forgiving the context where this trend is happening.