Recent developments in technology have greatly changed our way of life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technological progress has had significant impacts on our lives in various ways. Some people argue that these impacts are positive for us. I agree to a certain extent with this view. While there may be some convincing reasons why this progress negatively affects our lives, the reasons why this progress has positive impacts are more significant. On the one hand, the progress of technology has some drawbacks. Firstly, this progress could increase the initial cost of people ’s lives. Although many convenient appliances like washing machines and refrigerators were available thanks to this progress, people had to spend a lot of money introducing them into their lives. Secondly, this progress has widened digital disparities across generations. For example, elderly people tend to take a long time to acquire and understand new technology skills: how to use smartphones and other digital devices. Thus, the number of people who can receive benefits might be limited to the younger generations. On the other hand, the progress of technology has more benefits. Firstly, this progress could save time in people ’s lives. For instance, appliances like washing machines and microwaves could reduce the time spent on housework. As a result, people might spend their time on their studies, work, and hobbies. Secondly, this progress has positively changed the way we communicate. The development of communication tools, such as social media and online chat, contributed to smoother contact among individuals who are physically apart from each other. In conclusion, I believe that the progress of technology has positive impacts on our lives because, while there are some drawbacks temporarily, the benefits are more considerable from a long-term perspective.