Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The uprising popularity of social media has increased the interaction between people and the rate of news transmission. This essay is going to discuss the pros and cons of using social media and how it may jeapardise jeopardize our personal growth if not handled properly. To begin with, social media brings people closer. In the past, it was hard to know people unless you reach out to them in a party. However, upon the invention of social media, no matter how far the person is, you can communicate with him using your phone. This advocates people to reach out to more people on social media. Even saying happy birthday is as easy as posting a story on Instagram. Thus, the easiness of communication encourages people to chat more and get to know each other more. However, social media may cause addiction. The algorithm in social media tends to encourage the user to stay on the platform, such as TikTok provides shorts according to your past viewing history. It is easy for the user to scoll through pages after pages and waste a tremendous amount of time on social media. Although it can be seen that social media does poses potential harm on certain group of people, it is of a vital importance that we set up boundary when using the social media, such as setting time limit on the social media usage. Through the use of time limit, the problems of using social media can be solved and the social media can be used safely.