In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Several nations across the globe are experiencing a growth in population of individuals choosing to leave their hometown in the village to live in cities. The population in rural regions is therefore shrinking. I believe that this kind of situation is a sign of negative development, since it might cause the rise of unemployment rate in cities and a decrease in workers on villages simultaneously. One of the most significant drawbacks of such phenomenon is the increasing rate of unemployment in cities. People who used to live in the countryside believed that there were lots of better job opportunities in cities, especially in the capital city. However, many of them are not supported by sufficient educational background, which makes them not qualified for working in the cities. To illustrate, many urban in Jakarta, the capital city of Indonesia, ended up being unemployed after months trying to look for a suitable job and were forced to go back to their hometown by the government. In addition, the rising numbers of people left the rural areas will make a deficit in workforce in such particular region. This is due to the lack of young people, especially those are in productive ages. Meanwhile, in the longer term, the elders in the village could no longer able to work. Therefore, communities within countryside areas could not develop their own hometown which might lead to a growth in poverty rate. For instance, there are several villages in Sulawesi Island in Indonesia experiencing shortage of rice due to lack of farmers, since more than half of the population are people above 50 years old and no young people able to help them do the farming. In conclusion, the rising proportion of urban is a sign of negative development for the country. Such kind of trend will increase rate of unemployment in cities, while on the other hand, there is a declining number of workforce in rural areas.