Some people think that money spent on space exploration is a waste and could be better used to fund other urgent problems in society. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays life on earth is becoming more and more precarious and therefore many people believe that we should explore options in space. However, others argue that there are far more pressing concerns on earth and that we should deal with them first. I tend to agree with the first group, and in this essay I will argue that space exploration is essential for the survival of mankind. Let us look at the arguments against spending vast amounts of money on space. It is an undeniable fact that the environment is in a dire situation because of man-made problems such as global warming. If we invested more money into solving this problem, we might not need to look for other places to live. In addition, there are serious health issues such as cancer and diabetes that need to be tackled as a matter of urgency. These cause great suffering to millions of people and a cure could easily be found if there was adequate funding. Although the arguments above are valid, in my opinion there is evidence to suggest that space exploration could bring a number of solutions to our problems here on earth. With more international space stations, for example, we would be able to predict and prevent extreme weather patterns and monitor natural disasters more effectively. As a result, our life on earth would be safer. It must also be noted that space exploration has been responsible for the development of many life-saving inventions such as radiation treatments which have increased our life expectancy dramatically. To conclude, there will always be difficult problems to deal with on earth, but space exploration might provide long-term solutions that have yet to be discovered yet. I believe we should continue to fund experiments in space so that we have a Plan B which may end up being our only real hope for the future.