Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages. Discuss both view points and give your own opinion.

Many believe that bicycles are good option to travel from one place to another for its obvious benefit to environment and health. On the contrast, others say it has its own disadvantage due to its lack of practical approach. I support the latter opinion as bicycles do not provide a complete solution. This essay will discuss both the perspectives. To begin with, there is no doubt that bicycles are modern means of transport due its eco-friendly quality. They do not have any detrimental effect on environment because they do no omit any harmful fumes unlike cars or motorbikes. Additionally, bicycles are advantageous for human health as it is a good way of burning calories which help individuals to lose weight leading to healthier life. On the contrary, demerits of bicycles cannot be overlooked as these are slow means of transport and do not provide protection against accident. In today's fast paced world, time is the most valuable commodity and bicycles are much slower when compared to other transport means like cars, metro or buses. Thus, they do not provide a practical approach to save time. Moreover, bicycles do not facilitate in case of any unforeseen circumstances like accidents or weather conditions. They make the rider vulnerable in such situation which may cause problems to them. Therefore, bicycles cannot be taken as a better means of transportation. In conclusion, it can be argued that bicycles do provide a better solution when talked about environment and health yet it do not give a concrete solution in terms of safety and time saving.