Demand for gas and oil is increasding and so finding new resources in remote and untouched areas is a neccessity. D the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

The use of oil and gas in the society has increased, hence it is necessary to locate new drilling points in remote and untouched places. In my opinion, this will benefit the society by ensuring sufficient energy supply and outweighs the drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of discovering extra locations for extraction of crude oil. There are many merits associated with locating extra areas of oil extraction in the society. Firstly, one major advantage is an increased energy supply. Fossil fuels are currently the main energy source with a guaranteed global sustainability hence locating more points for extraction will benefit the world population by providing efficient energy and power supply. Secondly, in some countries, petroleum is one of the key sources of national income therefore extra drills and international exportation will increase the country’s revenue. For example, in Nigeria, crude oil is one of the country’s natural resources and discovering this oil in more places in Imo, Ebonyi and Enugu states in the year 2015 contributed immensely to generating more revenues to the nation. However, one main disadvantage of finding new places to collect oil is environmental pollution. Fossil fuel is passed through the process of fractional distillation in a refinery to generate oil and gas consumed by the people, but this process leads to the release of greenhouse gases which invariably contributes to global warming. For instance, research carried out has attributed a rise in global warming to the extensive use of fossil fuel and this environmental catastrophe is a problem in the society. In conclusion, I reiterate that the pros in locating exploratory venues for oil and gas from new isolated areas are more than the cons.